International Treaties and Agreements:

South Africa adheres to a number of international treaties, agreements and arrangements that has an impact on its policy on non-proliferation, disarmament and arms control and includes, amongst others, the following:

  • Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC); (
  • Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT); (
  • Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production and Stockpiling of Bacteriological (Biological) and Toxin Weapons and on Their Destruction (BTWC); (
  • Hague Code of Conduct Against Ballistic Missile Proliferation; (
  • International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA); (
  • Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR); (
  • Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG); (
  • South Africa also includes in its lists of controlled items the Wassenaar Arrangement ( and the Australia Group; (
  • Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT);
  • UN Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in all its aspects;
  • United Nations Security Council; (
  • Zangger Committee; (

Back to top

Home |  Contact us |  Policy |  Legislation |  Sanctions |  Registration |  Permits & Procedures |  FAQ's | 
Compliance Programme |  International Treaties and Agreements |  CWC Inspections |  Other Control Authorities |  the dti