New Page 2
New Page 2

Economic Empowerment
Industrial Development
Trade, Export and Investment
Financial Assistance
Legislation and Business Regulation


Home>> Parliament

Parliamentary Presentations

The aim of the Department of Trade and Industry (the dti) is to lead and facilitate access to sustainable economic activity and employment for all South Africans. In order to achieve this aim, the dti requires a thorough understanding of the economy, an ability to identify economic opportunities and potential, and monitor and evaluate the status quo in the country on an ongoing basis. The Department makes optimal use of its accessibility to the people of the country via the South African Parliament. Issues of economic transformation and development, and the establishment of an environment conducive to increasing investment potential, enterprise and trade opportunities for economic citizens, are ongoing topics of discussion in Parliamentary Portfolio and Select Committees.

Regular deliberations and consultation with the South African public contribute to the dti achieving government's vision of an adaptive and restructured economy, characterised by accelerated and shared economic growth (via AsgiSA), employment creation and greater equity by 2014.

Home>> Parliamentary Questions

Parliamentary Questions

Enterprise and Industry Development

Consumer and Corporate Regulation Division (CCRD)

Trade and Investment

Incentives Administration


International Trade and Economic Development

Economic Research and Policy Coordination

Home>> Portfolio Committees

Portfolio Committees

Members of the Portfolio Committee on Trade and Industry

Name Political Party
Ms Joan (Joanmariae Louise) Fubbs - (Chairperson) ANC
Ms Tozama Priscilla Mantashe ANC
Mr Bongani Michael Mkongi ANC
Mr Mziwamadoda Uppington Kalako ANC
Mr Adrian John Williams ANC
Mr NC Koornhof (Nicolaas Jacobus Janse van Rensburg Koornhof) ANC
Mr Geordin Gwyn Hill-Lewis DA
Mr Dean William Macpherson DA
Prof Christian Themba Msimang IFP
Mr Floyd (Nyiko Floyd) Shivambu EFF
Adv. Anton De Waal Alberts FF+
Mr Mosiuoa Gerard Patrick Lekota* COPE
Mr Nqabayomzi Lawrence Saziso Kwankwa*UDM

Select Committee on Trade and International Relations

Name Political Party
Mr Edwin Ronald Makue (Chairperson) ANC
Ms Winile Prudence Zondi ANC
Ms Masefako Clarah Dikgale ANC
Mr Simphiwe George Mthimunye ANC
Mr Boingotlo Gerard Nthebe ANC
Mr Litho Suka ANC
Ms Elizabeth Christina (Elza) van Lingen DA
Mr Willem Frederik Faber DA
Mr Johan Jaco Londt DA
Mr Lehlohonolo Goodwil Mokoena EFF
Dr (Mr) Younus Cassim Vawda EFF
Mr Mandla Isaac Rayi* ANC
Mr Jonas Phello Parkies* ANC
Ms Galerekwe Mase Manopole* ANC
Mr Jacques Warren William Julius* DA
Mr Mbuyiselo April Matebus* EFF
Mr Mntomuhle Khawula* IFP
Mr Lennox Bogen Gaehler* UDM